Under the Local Government Act 1995, Ordinary Local Government Elections are held every two years on the third Saturday in October. The Mayor and Councillors are elected for four year terms with the terms of half the Councillors concluding at each biennial election.
The next Town of Claremont Ordinary Election will be held on Saturday 16 October 2021 and will be conducted by postal vote. Please click here to view the Notice of Election prepared by the Western Australian Electoral Commission.

The Election will fill the following vacancies: 
District Mayor 1 4 year term
East Ward Councillor 1 4 year term
South Ward Councillors 2 4 year terms
West Ward Councillor 1 4 year term
West Ward  Councillor 1 2 year term
Nominations for the 2021 Ordinary Election closed on Thursday, 9 September 2021 at 4.00pm. The Candidate Details for the Town of Claremont 2021 Ordinary Election are as follows:

East Ward 
John Parkinson - Candidate Profile
Shelley Hatton - Candidate Profile 

West Ward
David Airey - Candidate Profile
Sara Franklyn - Candidate Profile
Graham Cameron - Candidate Profile
Ryan Brown - Candidate Profile

The following Candidates were elected unopposed at the close of nominations:

Jock Barker - Candidate Profile

South Ward 
Jill Goetze - Candidate Profile
Paul Kelly - Candidate Profile

The Results of Election for the Mayor and South Ward vacancies can be viewed by clicking here.

The East and West Wards will proceed to an Election. Election packages will be posted to all people on the Town’s Electoral Roll from Wednesday, 22 September 2021.  Electors are to complete the ballot and return either by mail or in person to the Administration Office at 308 Stirling Highway Claremont, by 6.00pm on election day (Saturday, 16 October 2021).

The Returning Officer is responsible for the conduct and processes associated with Town of Claremont local government elections and can provide further information for prospective candidates, including guides and forms for candidates and scrutineers. The Town’s Returning Officer for the 2021 Ordinary Election is Noel McAuliffe who can be contacted on 0419 948 895 or at LGro_cla@elections.wa.gov.au