Election Results 2017

Election Results 2017

Mayor, Jock Barker of the Town of Claremont was re-elected on Saturday in a contested election with one other candidate.

“I would like to thank everyone who voted for me and for entrusting me to continue in the role.  I am looking forward to working with the Council and the administration to ensure we continue to deliver the high standard of service and facilities the Town provides to our residents.  

I am very grateful for the support of my fellow Councillors during the campaign and throughout my previous terms as Mayor.  I would also like to congratulate Councillors Bruce Haynes, Jill Goetze and Paul Kelly for their wins. 

Karen Wood has vacated her seat as a West Ward Councillor, and I would like to thank her for all her hard work, she will be greatly missed.  I would also like to welcome and congratulate incoming Councillor Sara Franklyn, I am looking forward to working with her,” Mayor Jock Barker said.

A total of 12 candidates ran for five vacancies on the Council – one Councillor for both East and West Wards, two Councillors for South Ward and two candidates contested the position of Mayor.

A total of 42% (7269) of eligible electors voted in the Ordinary Election which is conducted via postal ballot closing on 21 October, 2017. 

The re-elected Mayor and Councillors and new Councillor were sworn in today.  The first Ordinary Meeting of the new Council will take place on 7 November, 2017.
Town of Claremont Council
23 October, 2017

Mayor Jock Barker, JP
West Ward
Deputy Mayor, Cr Peter Browne JP
East Ward
Cr Bruce Haynes
Cr Alastair Tulloch
Cr Kate Main
South Ward
Cr Paul Kelly
Cr Jill Goetze
Cr Chris Mews
West Ward
Cr Sara Franklin
Cr Peter Edwards

  Back To News Stories